I Stand

walking-in-the-desert-1405891
Image Courtesy of Gabriel Rezende Souza @ FreeImages.com

It’s all a jumble in my head
words competing and screaming
truth hushed by the highway of defeat
I find myself flailing
stumbling along in this dry desert
clinging to the hint of madness
running away from OK
Why?
why the bottom of the well when
I know what it holds?
why the search for gasoline when
I know how much the fire hurts?
Why?
I have already won
even still
this ravaged battlefield
littered with bits and pieces of me
holds power.

Nevertheless, I stand.

3 thoughts on “I Stand

Share your thoughts

