Dusty Shoes

I saw them there
too big I knew
dusty shoes marked
by purpose and importance.

Desperate one day
I slipped them on
amidst the smell of sadness
and withering wooden walls.

Wishes watched
as I stepped into shoes
too large
for me to fill.

I quickly grew tired
underneath the weight
of indifference, hopelessness
and sorrow.

Painful swells rose
on my weary feet
their muted voices
did call.

Unabated time
passed and stopped
devoured and changed
me.

Even now
those shoes
their remnants
scarred.

Remind me of
that little girl
still unable
to save the ones
who should have
saved her. 

Share your thoughts

